I Have Represented Doctors,
Lawyers, Engineers, Nurses...
Other Licensed Professionals.
Unfortunately, Licensed Professionals Face More
Serious Consequences Than Most DUI/OVI Defendants.
Virtually All Ohio Licensing Boards Have the
Power to Discipline Their Members For a DUI/OVI.
Above and Beyond Any Punishment
Imposed by the Court.
Find Out How I Can Help Below...
Ohio Doctors are licensed by the State Medical Board of Ohio. The board has the authority to approve new licenses and suspend or revoke existing licenses. The board has a set of published disciplinary guidelines for when a criminal offense, such as an DUI, can impact an Ohio doctor’s medical license. A criminal offense does not have to be related to an Ohio doctor’s medical practice to have an impact on his license. If you have an Ohio DUI case, you should consider talking to a top Ohio DUI lawyer to see if he can get the case dismissed or reduced to a lesser offense. The penalties on these pages only apply to drivers who are convicted of DUI/OVI. An experienced Ohio DUI lawyer may be able to prevent that from happening.
There are specific circumstances listed in Ohio Revised Code in which the State Medical Board has the authority to discipline an Ohio doctor. If any of the following circumstances related to a DUI case occurs, the Board will likely take action:
Ohio Revised Code Section 4731.223 requires the DUI prosecuting attorney to notify the State Medical Board when an Ohio doctor is a defendant in any of the following circumstances:
Within thirty days of receiving a report from the Ohio prosecuting DUI lawyer, the State Medical Board will initiate action in accordance with Chapter 119 of the Revised Code to determine whether to suspend or revoke the Ohio doctor’s license.
The Ohio Administrative Code requires any Ohio doctor, physician, physician assistant, anesthesiologist assistant, acupuncturist, radiologist assistant, or any association of the aforementioned individuals to report when a possible violation of any Board rule has occurred. That means that Ohio doctors charged with certain DUI offenses are required to self-report to the State Medical Board. Similarly, Ohio doctors and other health care practitioners are required to report if one of their colleagues is charged with certain DUI offenses. The Ohio doctor or other licensee must make a report to the Board within 48 hours of obtaining knowledge of same.
Should the Medical Board of Ohio have reason to believe that any Ohio licensee or applicant suffers from impairment because of a DUI charge, it may compel the individual to submit to a mental or physical examination, or both. Ohio Administrative Code defines impairment in this context as the impairment of ability to practice according to acceptable and prevailing standards of care because of habitual or excessive use or abuse of drugs, alcohol, or other substances.
Depending on the facts and circumstances of the case, the Medical Board has the authority to order a licensed Ohio doctor to undergo a drug and alcohol assessment at a treatment center approved by the Board. Depending on the results of the assessment, the physician will have ordered to complete a residential treatment program lasting at least 28 days as well as aftercare, which can include any of the following:
The Ohio Physician Licensure Application seeks detailed information about an applicant’s criminal record, including any significant traffic offenses like DUI. Specifically, the application includes the following two questions that an applicant with a DUI incident on his record will need to address: (a) Have you ever pled guilty to, been found guilty of a violation of any law, or been granted intervention or treatment in lieu of conviction regardless of the legal jurisdiction in which the act was committed, other than a minor traffic violation? and (b) Have you ever been arrested, forfeited collateral, bail or bond for breach or violation of any law, police regulation or ordinance other than for a minor traffic violation; been summoned into court as a defendant or had any lawsuit filed against you?
These two questions not only require an applicant to disclose any DUI conviction, they require the applicant physician to disclose any DUI arrest, even if the charges were eventually reduced or dismissed. If the answer to either question is yes, the application requires the following additional information regarding each incident:
In addition to the aforementioned information, the State Medical Board of Ohio requires an applicant to submit copies of all relevant documentation of a DUI case including police reports, certified court records and any institutional correspondence and orders.
No Ohio DUI/OVI/drinking and driving arrest is perfect and the best Ohio DUI/OVI lawyers knows this. Most Ohio DUI/OVI investigations include a number of witnesses, including police officers and the personnel who collect, store and test chemical samples. These witnesses are human and they make mistakes. Further, most Ohio DUI/OVI investigations include a breath testing device or other testing equipment that is not always maintained according to current Ohio DUI/OVI regulations.
There are over 1 million laws in the United States. I am a top Ohio DUI/OVI defense lawyer who devotes his entire practice to ONE. Because of my experience and concentrated focus, I know the Ohio DUI/OVI laws better than most attorneys in the state. I am passionate about Ohio DUI/OVI defense and I get results, however, I only accept a limited number of clients. If you’re serious about your case and want a top Ohio DUI/OVI lawyer on your team, call me, the Ohio DUI Dude at 1-844-DUI-DUDE.